Mousseline Au Chocolate – Happy Birthday Julia Child


Nothing seems to represent classic French cooking like chocolate mousse.  The egg whites produce a light and airy mousse. The coffee also helps deepen the chocolate flavor. The recipe calls for Grand Marnier however this can easily be left out. Enjoy!

Mousseline Au Chocolate

Ingredients

4 egg yolks
3/4 cup  sugar
1/4 cup orange liqueur
6 ounces or squares semi-sweet baking chocolate
4 Tb strong  coffee
6 ounces or 1/2 sticks softened unsalted butter
4 egg whites

Preparation

Beat the egg yolks and sugar together until mixture is thick, pale yellow, and falls back upon itself forming a slowly dissolving ribbon. Beat in the orange liqueur.

Then set mixing bowl over the not  quite simmering water and continue beating for 3 to 4 minutes until the mixture is foamy.

Then beat over cold water for 3 to 4 minutes until the mixture is cool and again forms the ribbon. It will have the consistency of mayonnaise.

Melt chocolate with coffee over hot water. Remove from heat and beat in the butter a bit at a time, to make a smooth cream. Beat the chocolate into the egg yolks and sugar.

Beat the egg whites and salt until soft peaks are formed; sprinkle on the sugar and beat until stiff peaks are formed. Stir one fourth of the egg whites into the chocolate mixture to lighten the base. Fold in the rest in batches.

Refrigerate what you serve it in ( I used martini glasses) for at least 2 hours or overnight.

14 thoughts on “Mousseline Au Chocolate – Happy Birthday Julia Child

  1. Hi and thanks for stopping by my blog! How did you find it? Are you the young chef that was featured on TV last month? So impressed! Now following you via email and hoping that you followed me to so that we can continue to read each other’s posts. Have a great year in school (I’m a college professor and been there, done that!) 🙂

    • I actually found it through La Cucina Prima Donna, one of my favorite blogs. I was not on TV as far as I know. I actually just subscribed to your wordpress site. I am excited for high school but sad for summer to be over. Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. I wish I am as good as you are when I was 14! I barely can whipped up any edible dessert back then. The chocolate mousse looks delightful and I do occasionally get weird looks too when I am so engrossed with a cookbook in public 🙂

Leave a Reply

